Bolton Golf Association Competitions

B.G.A. Championship since 1921

1925 R. Shipperbottom
1948 N .Woods
1951 J. Smith.
1953 C. Kirkpatrick.
1983 A. Winrow.
2001 A.Runciman

B.G.A. League Champions since 1958

1987 Team Captain, A.Clayton.
1993 Team Captain, D.Morris.
1995 Team Captain, T. Sutton.
2000 Team Captain, K.Robbinson.
2002 Team Captain, A.J.Mitchel & R.J.Kelly.

B.G.A. Jack Taylor 4 Ball Team K/O since 1971

1996 Deane won the Trophy after being losing finalist on 7 previous occasions.
Team Captain T. Sutton

1998 Team Captain R.Hughes.

B.G.A. Junior Champions since 1953

1956 J.S.Blower.
1957 D.Sheffield.
1958 G.Kay.
1959 G.Kay.
1961 G.Kay.
1984 D.C.Barlow.
1986 H.Hughes.
1996 S.Parry.
2005 M.Gibbons

Past Presidents Trophy - Best 18 Holes Stroke Play Net Score

1980 P.V. Thompson
1988 A. Clayton
1992 A. Winrow
2004 A. Runciman
2005 G. Walker
2006 A. Gibbins

Preston Handicap Trophy - 18 Holes Stroke Play (Best of 4 players aggregate score from any one club)

1979, 1986, 1990 and 1998

Four Ball Better Ball - 18 Hole Stroke Play Competition

1974 G. Pasquill & L. Thomasson
1982 A. Gruskos & M. Thomasson

Corser Trophy Mixed Foursome

1970 W. Cryer & Mrs K. Wood
2007 G. Walker & K. Wardle

Seniors Championship (Formerly Senior Competition) - 18 Hole Competition, players to be 55 years or over

1986 J.Heyes & H. Lobb
1987 R. Statham & C. Lanceley

Lancashire Junior Champion

1998 J. Barr

B.G.A. Past Presidents From Deane.

1966 - 1967 H.Potter.
1992 - 1993 R.J.Statham.
2004 - 2005 T.Rawson

Bolton And District Society Of Golf Captains

Past Captains since 1959

1960/61 H. Potter.
1977/78 R. Makin.
1998/99 R. Fletcher.
2010/11 W.A.Sutton

Past Presidents since 1959

1984 to 1986 F.Marsh.
1991/92 G.Davis
2004/05 K.Dunn.

Four Deane Members Hold Pesidents Offices

This occurred during the first part of 2005.

They are from left to right.
Mr K. Dunn - President of the Society of Bolton Captains
Mr T. Rawson - President of the B.G.A.
Mrs P. Sharrocks - Lady President of the Bolton and District past Lady Captains Association
Mr G. Lister - President of Deane Golf Club

Bolton Golf Association - A Brief History

Although the Bolton Championship has been around since 1913 it came under the control of the newly formed Bolton Golf Association in 1931 with Fred Walker of Turton being elected as the Association’s first President.

The first Championship of this new Era was held at Deane in 1931 and won by J. Gerrard,Jnr. of Bolton Golf Club.

In the 1953 Championship held at Deane 15 year old Norman Johnson from Gt. Lever lost in the semi-final to Jim Scott. Two years later he went on to become the youngest ever Champion beating Jack Taylor with a birdie on the first extra hole.

There have been many worthy Bolton Champions but one who stands out amongst the rest is Jack Taylor from Old Links Golf Club. During 21 years between 1947 & 1968 Jack was a Finalist 17 times and a winner on 10 occasions. He gained county honours representing Lancashire over 100 times and was a semi-finalist in the English Amateur Championships.

Jack was also elected as B.G.A. President in 1982-83.

Terry Rawson was elected President of the B.G.A. for the usual 2 year term of office starting in March 2004 through to March 2006.

Terry has had 2 other Deane Members & Past Captains to follow in this prestigious office – they are Harry Potter 1966 & 67 also Bob Statham 1992 & 93.
Course Status
Currently open
25.04.2019 08:00
View Status
18 holes
  • 2019-04-25
  • 2019-04-26
  • 2019-04-27
  • 2019-04-28
  • 2019-04-29
Need to know more weather details? Click here to see the weather for the next 5 days.
Book a Tee Time
Ready to book?

Our booking system will make it easy for you.